The Country Friends History

Formed in 1954 to fulfill a need of “Helping San Diegans since 1954 :: One Hand At a Time” The Country Friends® actively seeks out members and sponsors, owns and operates a Consignment Shop, and hosts events to raise funds for local human care agencies. With unparalleled standing throughout Southern California, we value each and every supporter of The Country Friends®. We offer membership to those who want to take part in our community of giving and attend our events.

Your support whether it takes the form of a donation, event ticket, consignment and/or purchase from the shop helps The Country Friends® to ensure the continuation and growth of this generous giving program.

President- Deborah Cross

Deborah Cross, who has been a member of the Board for the past six years, was elected to serve as the President of The Country Friends for 2017-2018.

“I am honored to lead this wonderful team of staff and volunteers, continuing The Country Friends’ commitment to those most in need throughout San Diego County.”

A native San Diegan, Cross graduated from San Diego State University with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in audiology. She founded Hearing Dynamics in 1983 and remained in private practice for 15 years, until the business was sold to Sonus Hearing Care. After several years with Sonus, Cross retired to spend more time with her family.

She and husband Les Cross have long been active in charitable pursuits including serving on the Board of Directors for the Boys & Girls Clubs of San Dieguito. Les has been actively involved with the Marine Corp Scholarship Fund and is currently on the Board of the USS Midway Foundation.

The Del Mar residents will be very active in The Country Friends Legacy Campaign to raise $1 million dollars to pay off the construction loan on The Consignment Shop in Rancho Santa Fe, allowing more money to be distributed to local human care agencies, and to create an endowment fund to ensure The Country Friends will continue to give back to the community in the decades to come.

Board of Directors

President Deborah Cross
First Vice President Suzanne Newman
Second Vice President – Human Care Funding Marci Cavanaugh
Third Vice President – Consignment Manager Yvette Letourneau
Treasurer – Chief Financial Officer Janean Stripe
Recording Secretary – Sales Staff Representative Sharon Mauro
Events Manager Donna Ahlstrom
Honoring & Remembrance Jean Waters
Hospitality Director Erika Horn
Hospitality Co-Director Helga Schulman
HCF Co-Director Jolene Davidson
Publicity Co-Director Mia Stefanko
Newsletter Director Sage Billick
Membership Director Sam Fleming
Parliamentarian Erika Fetter
Publicity Mia Park
Publicity Co-Director Andrea Naversen
Special Events Director Maggie Bobileff
Volunteer Director Laura White
Area Director Coordinator Sharon Ferges
San Diego Central Coast – La Jolla, Pacific Beach, Ocean Beach, Mission Bay, Pt. Loma Betsy Jones & Rebecca Franks
North County Coast – Carlsbad, Oceanside JoLynn Shapiro
North County East – Poway, Rancho Bernardo, Santa Luz, Escondido, Julian, Valley Center Chris Epstein
Rancho Santa Fe Terri Chivetta & Kim Quinn
San Diego – East County, South Bay, Central San Diego Elaine Leach
North County Coast – Del Mar, Solana Beach, Encinitas Steve Knight & Dave Baker
North County Inland – San Marcos, Vista, Fallbrook, Bonsall Laura Wireman